The disciplines of The School of Basic Medical Sciences, Xi’an Jiaotong University were formed in 1937, and The School of Basic Medical Sciences, Xi’an Medical University was established in 1986. In April 2000, Xi'an Medical University was merged with Xi 'an Jiaotong University and Shaanxi Institute of Finance and Economics, meanwhile, the organization of Basic Medicine School was abrogated. After the establishment of Health Science Center of Xi’an Jiaotong University in 2012, The School of Basic Medical Sciences has resumed its organizational system at the end of 2014.

At present, there are 10 departments in The School of Basic Medical Sciences, including the Department of Physiology and Pathophysiology, the Department of Anatomy, Histology and Embryology, the Department of Pathology, the Department of Pharmacology, the Department of Pathogenic Biology and Immunology, the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, the Department of Cell Biology and Genetics,the Department of Physiology and Biophysics, the Department of Neurobiology, and the Department of Laboratory Animal Science, among them physiology is the national key subject. There are 6 research institutes the Basic Medicine School, including the experimental teaching center of biology and basic medicine established for undergraduates, cardiovascular research institute, neurobiology institute, cancer institute, pain biology research center and medical engineering institute.

Professor Shemin Lu, the dean of the Basic Medicine School, is fully responsible for the administrative work of the Department, as well as the establishment of the team and the discipline. Associate professor Wei Pu, the secretary of the CPC committee, is responsible for the establishment of the party and the ideological and political work. Professor Yumin Kang, the vice dean of the Basic Medicine school, is responsible for the scientific research, the research bases and the academic communication. Professor Haixia Lu is in charge of the cultivation and training of the talents. Currently, there are 232 faculties in the Basic Medicine School. The teaching team of the Department of Basic Medicine is an active and innovative team, including 39 professors, 74 associate professors, 41 doctoral supervisors, 94 master’s tutors, 66 lecturers, and 50 teaching and research assistants. Among them, 1 member has been enrolled in the national 1000 plan, 1 member has been in the youth program, 1 member has been elected as the chair professor of Yangtze river by the ministry of education, 4 members have been honored the talents of the new century by the ministry of education, 5 members have been selected as the members in the 100 plan in Shaanxi province. And there are 5 top-notch young talents of Xi’an Jiaotong University, 6 experts who have the rights of enjoying the national governmental subsidies, and 4 famous teachers of Shaanxi Province in the Basic Medicine School.

With the support of relevant promotion plans from country and university, the conditions of The School of Basic Medical Sciences for scientific research and teaching have been continuously improved, the teaching staff has been constantly optimized and developed, and the innovation ability has been improved continually. In future, with the strong support from the university and the Medicine School, we will continue to optimize the structure of the team, improve the level of scientific research and the quality of the talents training, form favorable cultural atmosphere, strengthen social service functions, expand international cooperation and communication, in order to make the basic medicine truly become the cornerstone of medical development of Xi’an Jiaotong University, as well as the support of the medical work, and the innovation engine of the medical scientific research. We will try our best to establish The School of Basic Medical Sciences, Xi’an Jiaotong University as a leading one in the northwest of China and a world-renowned one in China during the period of "double first class" construction.

Contact Information:

Post Address:No.76,Western Yanta Road,Xian,Shaanxi,710061

Visiting Address:No.335,3rd floor,Building of Experimental Teaching